Log in

I forgot my password

Latest topics
Our latest tweets
Free Webmaster ToolsSubmit Express

Tomorrowland Reviews -- Spoiler Alerts

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Tomorrowland Reviews -- Spoiler Alerts

Post by party animal - not! on Sun 17 May 2015, 23:02

[You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]



Tomorrowland review - George Clooney is Mr Incredible in world-saver adventure 
 

Brad Bird’s new Disney film may not kickstart a whole new franchise, but it’s enormous fun as it hurtles through space, time, and other dimensions

It’s a brave family movie that invests in high-budget thrills without the safety-net of a franchise brand, mows down a small child with a pickup truck (it’s OK, she’s a robot), and subjects us to the sight of [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.] in black leather jodhpurs. But bolder still is Tomorrowland’s sincere attempt to jump-start humanity’s technological optimism, which it reckons stalled with the decline of the space race with potentially planet-threatening consequences. Whether or not that’s the answer to the planet’s current problems, director Brad Bird deserves praise for packing such big ideas into such an accessible, rip-roaring, retro-futurist adventure.
What exactly Tomorrowland is, or even where it is, is difficult to explain. A prologue at the 1964 New York World’s Fair sees Frank, a boy-genius inventor who’ll grow up to be [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.], given a Tomorrowland badge by a mysterious little English girl. It grants him access to a VIP theme-park ride that whisks visitors to a secret world of the future, or a parallel present, or something. Anyway, Tomorrowland itself turns out to be a space-age utopia, full of slender glass skyscrapers and flying trains and citizens apparently dressed by fashion students. If it looks like an expensive airline commercial, there turns out to be a good reason for that.

But then we’re catapulted to the present day, where curious Nasa engineer’s daughter Casey (Britt Robertson, who could be Jennifer Lawrence’s younger sister) is constantly being told in class how doomed the Earth is, but never how to fix it. She, too, receives a [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.] badge which, when she touches it, immediately zaps her to the same future city. Except she’s not really there: she’s just seeing it, like a giant hologram. Again, it’s difficult to explain – but delightful to watch. That’s pretty much the case throughout. As Clooney says to her at one point: “Do I have to explain everything to you? Can’t you just be amazed?”
The story proceeds at a brisk pace, the answers to the riddles always one step ahead and mysterious android baddies one step behind. Athena, the mysterious English girl, also turns out to be an android, and is therefore still a super-smart kid, 50 years on. Frank, on the other hand, has grown into an embittered, reclusive man-genius inventor. Once Casey pitches up at his stronghold, this ad-hoc family are pitched through a seamless succession of chases, shootouts and escapes, sending them hurtling through space, time and possibly other dimensions in everything from a bathtub to a steampunk rocket ship hidden inside the Eiffel Tower.
As he did with The Incredibles, director [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.] strikes a playful tone, revelling in retro references, novel gadgetry and the reckless momentum of the action. It’s great fun, at least until they finally arrive in Tomorrowland and face Laurie and his leather jodhpurs. Judging by his penchant for monologuing, Laurie hasn’t watched The Incredibles, though his big “humanity’s got a problem” speech is actually pretty spot-on.

There’s a touch of Mr Incredible to Clooney’s character, too: a grouchy surrogate dad whose resignation is overturned by youthful enthusiasm. The relationships are less straightforward, though. Athena was Frank’s childhood crush but now she could be his grand-daughter, and he never quite got over discovering she was a robot. That’s going to take some therapy. Casey, too, is refreshingly atypical: a resourceful, technically literate female character who’s neither a geek nor a token lust object out of a Transformers movie.

As well as The Incredibles, Tomorrowland contains traces of Elysium, Philip K Dick, Hayao Miyazaki, The Fifth Element and possibly Interstellar – which also identified the decline of Nasa as the beginning of the end. But when it comes down to it, Tomorrowland is very much a Disney movie, directed more at wide-eyed youngsters (and their parents) than pop-savvy teen audiences. It’s also named after a pre-existing area of Disney’s theme parks, which technically makes it a shrewd piece of product placement, like Pirates of the Caribbean.
It’s unlikely Tomorrowland will launch another smash-hit franchise like Pirates – it’s a little too wholesome for that. But it would be uncharitable to dismiss a family movie that’s genuinely trying to save the world. Tomorrowland deals with threats far closer to the real world than, say, rogue superheroes or alien robots. It understands that utopia and dystopia are two sides of the same coin, and it’s unafraid to ask big questions about what we want the future to look like and what we’re prepared to do about it. That’s about as fashionable as leather jodhpurs; but if its diagnosis of what’s wrong with the world is ultimately simplistic and rather hokey, there’s still some truth to it.


Last edited by LornaDoone on Sun 24 May 2015, 03:43; edited 2 times in total (Reason for editing : added text)

party animal - not!
Casamigos with Mr Clooney

Posts : 8795
Join date : 2012-02-16

Back to top Go down

Re: Tomorrowland Reviews -- Spoiler Alerts

Post by party animal - not! on Sun 17 May 2015, 23:11

Here's another one - a backhanded compliment type of one.......

[You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Review: Disney's 'Tomorrowland,' With George Clooney, Burns Up In Orbit


Thumbnail: Tomorrowland works as a kid-friendly adventure only to stumble when it finally reveals its half-hearted concepts and ill-defined secrets.


The Box Office:

Stop me if you’ve heard this one: In a world of sequels, remakes, and revamps, one big-budget original would-be blockbuster from a beloved auteur has come to save Hollywood from itself! I do not mean to dismiss the very real issues with IP-based franchise development. Yet it stands to reason that if I have to keep writing sentences like the one above, and if I have to keep telling readers to go check out this new wholly original big-budget Hollywood genre film, then maybe the situation is only a little bit dire.  Come what may, Brad Bird’s Tomorrowland has become the poster child for the would-be diamond-in-the-rough in a sequel/franchise-heavy summer. The irony, of course, is that it comes from Walt Disney, the studio currently most associated with franchises and four-quadrant global tent poles that are allegedly taking over Hollywood.
ADVERTISING

Image and video hosting by TinyPicThis one has frankly been a tough sell. The film is clearly a kid-friendly adventure, and the marketing makes no bones about the fact that George Clooney is a supporting character rather than the lead. Britt Robertson is not exactly a known entity beyond film nerds, and the marketing has had to strike a balancing act. Director Brad Bird did not want the marketing campaign to spoil what surprises and reveals the picture might contain, but Disney needed to sell a movie that audiences felt was worth checking out in a theater. There is $190 million riding on this one, and while Disney can afford to take a loss with all of those Marvel and Lucasfilm bucks rolling in, they would rather not. At the moment, it is tracking at a $50 million Fri-Mon Memorial Day debut, and if that comes to pass then the Mouse House has nothing to worry about.

Having said that, just as Andrew Stanton “apologized” to Disney for John Carter in the form of Finding Dory, I would wager that Brad Bird now being vocal about making The Incredibles 2 is a sign that the Mouse House is not expecting a blockbuster this time around. Correlation is not causation. However, I have seen this too many times (for example, Bryan Singer jumping into X-Men: Days of Future Past right before Jack the Giant Slayer opens) not to raise my eyebrows accordingly. A few positive notes: First of all, George Clooney is a massive added value element, and he has been selling the crap out of this film accordingly. Secondly, Disney did something rather unusual last weekend, inviting a bunch of (pardon the expression) “Mommy Bloggers” to the big Red Carpet premiere and allowing them to participate in the junket process.

That is something that I may discuss later, but it is a pretty neat idea for getting the film extra publicity in venues where it might not otherwise get press while emphasizing the film’s kid-friendly nature. Thirdly, those diabolical Disney franchises have been Tomorrowland‘s best marketing tool over the last several months. Audiences who have gone to see films like Alexander and the Horrible, Terrible, No-Good, Very Bad Day,  Cinderella, and Avengers: Age of Ultron in theaters have seen at least one of the trailers. Whether or not the trailers made the sale to the younger audience members and their parents I cannot say. However, my daughter very much wants to see this one, and it was only a scheduling conflict that prevented her from attending the press screening. So if she is in any way representative of the younger audience, then Disney might be okay in the long run.    

The Review:


There are going to be a great many so-called “think pieces” written about Brad Bird’s Tomorrowland over the next few weeks. If I say that the film does not quite live up to its subtexts, then I will also admit that it is a mostly entertaining adventure movie. It is not the wave of the future, but rather a nostalgic jaunt through a time when Hollywood made big movies explicitly for kids. For most of its two-hour running time, it is an engaging and exciting road-trip mystery film. It ironically only stumbles in the final act when it has to peel back the curtain and reveal its secrets. The fault lies in its screenplay that is credited to Damon Lindelof, Brad Bird, and Jeff Jensen. Said script leaves several seemingly key story points somewhat unexplained and ends on a rather simplistic and arbitrary note of razzle-dazzle that barely plays on the film’s ideas. Moreover the crux of said ideas, specifically the attempt at examining our current worldwide pessimism, overlooks or outright ignores several very real reasons as to why the so-called future has not lived up to the hopes of the 1950′s/1960′s era dreamers.

For those not necessarily looking for a deep treatise on the human condition and commentary on the state of world affairs, Brad Bird’s stylishly directed and gorgeous movie provides surface-level pleasures. The film suffers from John Carter syndrome, in that it pads its narrative with multiple prologues and a needless wrap-around device before getting to the actual story, but the results are at least more entertaining this time. It is a relatively small-scale film, with a potentially world-changing event taking place outside the purview of the rest of humanity. Following a prologue set at the 1964 World’s Fair that introduces several major supporting characters and a tease of the title world, the narrative shifts to one Casey Newton (Britt Robertson) and her accidental (?) discovery of a seemingly magic pin that can transport her on a dime to well, some kind of futuristic utopia. Peril and mystery soon rear their ugly heads as attempts to discover the origins of said pin (and the truth about wherever it takes you) brings both danger and discovery.

Eventually, she reluctantly teams up with Athena (a movie-stealing Raffey Cassidy), who is a rather bad-ass would-be “recruiter” from the so-called Tomorrowland. If you have seen the previews you know that she eventually stumbles upon one Frank Walker (George Clooney), a disillusioned former inventor now watching the world kill itself day-by-day. Needless to say, the would-be heroes do eventually make their way to Tomorrowland, but what they discover there or what lies in store beyond that point I will not say. However, for the record, try not to go into the film expecting mind-blowing spectacle or shocking revelations. That is not a criticism but merely an acknowledgment that today’s spoiler-filled marketing has left moviegoers under the impression that any film that does not give away the whole story in the trailers must be hiding something beyond imagination.

There was a time when a film like Tomorrowland would just be “a movie”  as opposed to the great hope and great mystery that it is being presented as. That the film merely exists as a pleasant and occasionally expensive matinee attraction should not be held against it. The film is a kid-friendly action adventure fantasy, with well-sketched heroes, one somewhat interesting would-be villain (Hugh Laurie), and just enough peril to justify that PG rating. Those first two acts are pretty delightful. There are colorful turns from the likes of Clooney, Kathryn Hahn, and Keegan-Michael Key. Robertson is pretty great as is Cassidy, who refreshingly exists as the primary action figure of the film. Yes, it is pretty cool that this fantastical blockbuster features two female leads, one as the primary explorer and the other as the one who shoots at stuff and beats up bad guys. The film remains Casey’s story even when Clooney shows up, while the film’s action sequences are, if not mind-blowing, well-staged and genuinely suspenseful. Most of the film is steeped in a certain amount of mystery, and sadly the third act trips on itself. It falters in terms of throwing out big (if generic) ideas and in terms of even trying to answer some pretty big questions that will be asked by even the least discerning members of the audience.

It is no secret that the film is somewhat based on Walt Disney’s designs for a would-be future world that eventually became EPCOT. There is much monologue-ing regarding how we are no longer optimistic about the future and now view what is coming in mostly pessimistic terms. Like Chris Nolan’s Interstellar,  the film ignores the very real reasons why we stopped going into space and never got jetpacks or flying cars. I blame 35 years of being taught that government investment was the devil and raised on a borderline Objectivist dogma, an investment in jails over schools,  and a tax code that rewards corporate hoarders. The film also ignores the very real human consequences of advancements that we did make, namely advancements in automation that threatens to create a jobless society. I do not necessarily expect a PG-rated Disney adventure to get explicitly political or to examine what it means to have websites that can now do jobs that people once did. However, the film brings up questions that have hard-and-firm answers (or at least worthwhile theories depending on your worldview) and then just throws up its hands and blames a generalized social malaise and a cultural cynicism.

Moreover, its concept of just what Tomorrowland is and for what it was intended is somewhat ill-defined. I do not necessarily want a third act filled with narrative and philosophical exposition, but the picture stops dead in its tracks to deal with a newly-revealed threat that must be dealt with right at the finale. The notion of getting our best and brightest together to fix the world is an optimistic one. It is also a notion that acts as a rebuttal to periodic accusations that Mr. Bird is in-fact an Objectivist at-heart (Ayn Rand followers would generally not use their superpowers to save the world). However,  the overall themes and ideas are poorly sketched out due to a relative lack of information regarding the time/space rules of this futuristic world. I will see this film again with my daughter in tow, and I am genuinely concerned about her asking a flood of very reasonable plot-related questions to which I will not have an answer. I will not pretend to know what happened during the production (and post-production) of Tomorrowland. It feels, especially in that rushed and oddly empty final act, that something got lost or truncated for the sake of a somewhat generic action finale.

At the risk of lazy simplification,  Tomorrowland feels like the six season run of Lost. As you recall, a bunch of worthwhile character work and intriguing mystery threads were set up in service of a final lap that discarded most of the mysteries and introduced a whole new and simplistic good-vs-evil threat right at the end of the race.  I have long forgiven Lost for its final stumble, and I will gladly confess to future generations that the journey itself was worth it even if the destination left something to be desired. With that in mind, I will make a similarly measured recommendation for Brad Bird’s Tomorrowland.

The third act is a profound disappointment, but the journey is enjoyable enough to merit a trip. The picture looks gorgeous, and I heartily recommend good-old IMAX 2D if you have the opportunity. The characters are enjoyable, the first 90 minutes are filled with small pleasures and inventive touches, and the film at least touches on some interesting issues even if it cannot quite honestly confront them.  Tomorrowland is a case of almost good not being the enemy of perfect as well as me indeed bending over backward to acknowledge an original big-budget fantasy vision that (as a bonus) is female-centric for no specific reason. It is, by default, Brad Bird’s worst film yet. However, if Mr. Bird can retire with Tomorrowland remaining the worst thing he ever made, well, what a career that will be.


Last edited by LornaDoone on Wed 20 May 2015, 04:36; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : added text)

party animal - not!
Casamigos with Mr Clooney

Posts : 8795
Join date : 2012-02-16

Back to top Go down

Re: Tomorrowland Reviews -- Spoiler Alerts

Post by Donnamarie on Mon 18 May 2015, 13:52

Been reading just a handful of reviews this morning.  A mixed bag.  2 solid (including The Guardian) reviews and the others not so complementary. Variety being one of them.  It's early but don't think it's gonna be a slamdunk for this movie.  I'm a bit nervous.  It probably will still do well at the box office, especially with young families.
avatar
Donnamarie
On an all-time Clooney high!

Posts : 4603
Join date : 2014-08-26
Location : Washington, DC

Back to top Go down

Re: Tomorrowland Reviews -- Spoiler Alerts

Post by Picachu on Tue 19 May 2015, 19:41

well ive just watched an extended clip of Tomorrowland on sky uk that you can download for free and it looks brilliant, i am definitely going to see this, cant wait
avatar
Picachu
Clooney-phile

Posts : 628
Join date : 2012-12-01

Back to top Go down

Re: Tomorrowland Reviews -- Spoiler Alerts

Post by lionheart on Fri 22 May 2015, 17:11

Messy. Confusing. Typical Damon Lindelof.

lionheart
Clooneyfan

Posts : 106
Join date : 2014-05-21

Back to top Go down

Re: Tomorrowland Reviews -- Spoiler Alerts

Post by Donnamarie on Fri 22 May 2015, 17:20

I'm going to see the movie this afternoon.  

The reviews are less kind than kind unfortunately.  The last third of the film is getting a fair amount of criticism. 
Since its PG is should still do well among young families.
avatar
Donnamarie
On an all-time Clooney high!

Posts : 4603
Join date : 2014-08-26
Location : Washington, DC

Back to top Go down

Re: Tomorrowland Reviews -- Spoiler Alerts

Post by lionheart on Fri 22 May 2015, 18:28

This movie is not suitable for children, imho.

lionheart
Clooneyfan

Posts : 106
Join date : 2014-05-21

Back to top Go down

Re: Tomorrowland Reviews -- Spoiler Alerts

Post by Joanna on Fri 22 May 2015, 21:19

I suppose it depends on the age of the child
and their perception and intelligence level.

My seven year old grand daughter was able to 
explain the story of Frozen to me very well when I asked her what it was about.
avatar
Joanna
George Clooney fan forever!

Posts : 19216
Join date : 2011-11-17
Location : UK

Back to top Go down

Re: Tomorrowland Reviews -- Spoiler Alerts

Post by lionheart on Fri 22 May 2015, 21:34

Frozen is much more straightforward.

lionheart
Clooneyfan

Posts : 106
Join date : 2014-05-21

Back to top Go down

Re: Tomorrowland Reviews -- Spoiler Alerts

Post by Donnamarie on Sat 23 May 2015, 01:42

lionheart wrote:This movie is not suitable for children, imho.

lionheart, I'm assuming you saw the movie.  

I saw it today with my 23 year old daughter.  I guess I don't want to talk about it here until more posters here see it and want to talk about it.
avatar
Donnamarie
On an all-time Clooney high!

Posts : 4603
Join date : 2014-08-26
Location : Washington, DC

Back to top Go down

Re: Tomorrowland Reviews -- Spoiler Alerts

Post by lionheart on Sat 23 May 2015, 12:25

Donnamarie wrote:
lionheart wrote:This movie is not suitable for children, imho.

lionheart, I'm assuming you saw the movie.  

I saw it today with my 23 year old daughter.  I guess I don't want to talk about it here until more posters here see it and want to talk about it.

Yes, I've seen the movie. I dont want to talk about it either because I'm just gonna get frustrated about the plot all over again.

lionheart
Clooneyfan

Posts : 106
Join date : 2014-05-21

Back to top Go down

Re: Tomorrowland Reviews -- Spoiler Alerts

Post by Donnamarie on Sat 23 May 2015, 14:55

I will just add that I really appreciated that the protagonists in the film were the young women -
Raffey and Britt!

I want to talk about this movie so whoever sees it this weekend (Lizzy think I read that you were planning on it) please share here or send me a PM.
avatar
Donnamarie
On an all-time Clooney high!

Posts : 4603
Join date : 2014-08-26
Location : Washington, DC

Back to top Go down

Re: Tomorrowland Reviews -- Spoiler Alerts

Post by Nicky80 on Sat 23 May 2015, 17:28

I just opened a new thread for people who watched the movie and want to talk about it. Feel free to discuss everything you want there. I look forward to read your Reviews Very Happy

[You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]
avatar
Nicky80
Casamigos with Mr Clooney

Posts : 8561
Join date : 2013-05-01
Location : Germany

Back to top Go down

Re: Tomorrowland Reviews -- Spoiler Alerts

Post by Donnamarie on Sat 23 May 2015, 17:52

Thanks Nicky.
avatar
Donnamarie
On an all-time Clooney high!

Posts : 4603
Join date : 2014-08-26
Location : Washington, DC

Back to top Go down

Re: Tomorrowland Reviews -- Spoiler Alerts

Post by LizzyNY on Sat 23 May 2015, 23:29

Donnamarie - Just saw the movie. I'll post my "review" on the "spoiler" thread.
avatar
LizzyNY
On an all-time Clooney high!

Posts : 4655
Join date : 2013-08-28
Location : NY, USA

Back to top Go down

Re: Tomorrowland Reviews -- Spoiler Alerts

Post by LornaDoone on Sun 24 May 2015, 03:44

Please use the spoiler format if you post info about specific scenes that were not in the trailers.

Thanks.

avatar
LornaDoone
Moderator

Posts : 6694
Join date : 2011-01-06

Back to top Go down

Re: Tomorrowland Reviews -- Spoiler Alerts

Post by LizzyNY on Sun 24 May 2015, 03:51

Lorna - The thread is titled "SPOILERS" !! Very Happy
avatar
LizzyNY
On an all-time Clooney high!

Posts : 4655
Join date : 2013-08-28
Location : NY, USA

Back to top Go down

Tomorrowland review - Daily Beast - no spoiler alerts

Post by party animal - not! on Sun 24 May 2015, 08:57

[You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]



George Clooney’s Global Warming Shaming
George Clooney’s new summer blockbuster shames us for our roles in global warming and a potpourri of other earthly calamities.

Never has commercialism and idealism blended so beautifully, and still so discordantly.

A $190 million summer blockbuster starring [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.] based on an area in a Disney theme park hits theaters, presumably hoping to rake in at least that much at the box office. Its narrative goal, however: to get you to stop caring so much about the vapid capitalistic things that are ruining us all and instead maybe do something to make the world a better place.

No movie has ever been as at odds with itself as [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]. And therefore no summer blockbuster, [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.], has ever been this intriguing—and perhaps even admirable.

The logline for Tomorrowland is deceptively complicated for a film so aggressively blunt with its message. That message, by the way? We have the power to save the world, should we choose to use it.

It’s Al Gore by way of Captain Planet, Disney-approved.

We’re introduced to a wide-eyed teenager named Casey (played by Britt Robertson), the daughter of a NASA engineer, who refuses to accept the end of the Space Race era, and the optimism and spirit it embodied.

The next part is the wee bit of sci-fi wonkiness: Casey is recruited by an ageless adolescent android who gives her a pin that transports her to Tomorrowland—a Jetsons-like utopia where the brightest, purest minds in the world were meant to gather to manufacture the brightest future possible.



George Clooney, at one point decades earlier, was also gifted a pin and access to this utopia, where he was once swept away by the romance and promise of a blissful tomorrow.

Decades later, now that Tomorrowland is all but defunct, his character is a crusty old man who passes his days staring at a bank of TV sets playing clips from 24-hour news stations detailing the disastrous state of our present: global warming, famine, wildfire, drought, climate change, endless war, endless disease.

A genius inventor in his own right, Clooney’s character fashioned a countdown clock, ticking away to the moment that these things—most of which are disasters of our making, consequences of our selfish behavior—will cause Armageddon.

Yes, in Tomorrowland, George Clooney is shaming us for causing the end of the world.

Of course, there are twists and turns that deepen this. As it turns out, Clooney’s return from Tomorrowland made him just as cynical and complacent as the society he blames for our impending doom. He’s not as much the film’s hero as he is the one who needs to be saved—before he can help save the world.

To that regard, it’s Clooney’s character who is the stand-in for the audience, not, as it initially seemed, our gumptious young heroine, who is fueled on her pursuit to fix the world by her own personal jetpack of boundless optimism and limitless dreaming.

[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]George Clooney in "Tomorrowland." (Disney)

He’s the one who, like all of us, is educated on the environmental issues and human behaviors that are leading to the destruction of the earth and the end of civilization. He, like all of us, knows that we hold the power to fix these things, should we choose to do so. And he, like all of us, is resigned to not doing anything about it.

That is, until the right person and argument—or futuristic utopia based on a region in a Disney theme park—comes along to convince us to get motivated.

For all of its grandness, broad themes, and massive scope, the end moral of Tomorrowland is very specific and intimately directed. We, individually, all have the responsibility to change the world. And, more, we, individually, all have the power to. I do. You do. George Clooney does.

(And here’s the part that’s irritating the most cynical of critics.) All it takes is for us to believe that we can. The end of the world is only inevitable if we let it be.

Clooney has been admirably resistant to big, traditional summer blockbusters—save for one nippled Caped Crusader catastrophe—in his career, and is therefore making a very pointed and deliberate decision in making Tomorrowland, and the values and morals it proliferates, his rare foray into the genre.

You’re a more closed-off and insulated person than even Tomorrowland speculates you are if you’re not aware of Clooney’s own celebrity-turned-superhero crusades.

Though one of the most steadily employed actors in Hollywood, he’s often eschewed discussion of his film work in favor of his humanitarian efforts and accomplishments as an activist: as a United Nations Messenger of Peace, advocate for [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.], work as a member of the Council on Foreign Relations, and, his involvement in the Not On Our Watch Project, which focuses on raising global attention for mass atrocities around the world—an effort certainly resonant in the message of Tomorrowland.



There are myriad conversations about a number of crises of our making sparked by Tomorrowland. How global warming is destroying the planet is chief among them. How our ignorance of calamities going on in the far reaches of the world will end up affecting all of us as those conflicts begin reverberating outside of the far-flung regions we so easily ignore.

And, in one hilarious quip from Hugh Laurie, playing a bit of a villain-as-moral-arbiter in the film, how bonkers it is that our globe simultaneously is facing obesity and starvation epidemics.

These are heady things to think about, and it’s at times off-putting how sincerely Tomorrowland wears its heart on its sleeve, or how it sometimes tends towards finger-wagging didacticism. But they are remarkable conversations to spurn from a summer blockbuster.

When was the last time Transformers made you think about your carbon footprint?



Cinematic ambition has long defined the summer movie season. That typically refers to how many different, new, and spectacular ways studios can blow up things, transport us to other dimensions, and delight us with whizbangs and kabooms.

Tomorrowland, as visually stunning of a blockbuster as we’ve ever seen, certainly boasts all that technical ambition. But what sets it apart from what we’re used to is a little bit of moral aspiration, too.

The ideas of Tomorrowland, if occasionally heavy-handed, are admirably resonant. How do you wake people up out of their somnambulant compliance and get them, not just optimistic about the future, but engaged in charting the direction of it?

In fact, a lot of the scoffing at the film’s Big Idea ambition speaks to the jadedness and state of culture that Tomorrowland actually seeks to expose and confront. Given the rolled-eye reaction to a lot of it, perhaps the challenge is greater than even the film estimates.

Maybe George Clooney and his big summer movie aren’t changing the world yet. But it’s at least changing the discussion.

As [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.], quite self-satisfyingly, “This is a very different sort of conversation than you have for most summer movies, isn't it?”


Last edited by Nicky80 on Sun 24 May 2015, 09:13; edited 2 times in total (Reason for editing : added text)

party animal - not!
Casamigos with Mr Clooney

Posts : 8795
Join date : 2012-02-16

Back to top Go down

Re: Tomorrowland Reviews -- Spoiler Alerts

Post by Nicky80 on Sun 24 May 2015, 09:12

Merged threads
avatar
Nicky80
Casamigos with Mr Clooney

Posts : 8561
Join date : 2013-05-01
Location : Germany

Back to top Go down

Re: Tomorrowland Reviews -- Spoiler Alerts

Post by Way2Old4Dis on Sun 24 May 2015, 17:51

Remember back in the old days when movies got reviewed on their merits instead if the critics' personal belief system and opinion of the life choices of the lead actor?

I am a cynic of the highest order when it comes to what humankind is capable of. But I found this movie unabashedly optimistic, and I enjoyed it. Yes, I would have made a few different story choices toward the end, but that's the writer in me, not the movie fan. It is a damn good movie.

And I'm still predicting that it will do just fine financially, if only in the long run. Just like most Brad Bird movies. And this is considered to be a Brad Bird movie, much more so than it is a George Clooney movie -- who, I am sure, is very proud of his work in it.

Way2Old4Dis
Training to be Mrs Clooney?

Posts : 2281
Join date : 2012-06-25

Back to top Go down

Re: Tomorrowland Reviews -- Spoiler Alerts

Post by Donnamarie on Thu 28 May 2015, 04:57

Recommend anyone who has seen the movie to listen to the Spoiler
 Special Discussion between the movie reviewer for Slate 
and Forrest Wickman. 
It's about 30 minutes but very interesting and insightful.

Her review is Brad Bird Is Not Superman

[You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]
george_clooney_disney_movie_tomorrowland_reviewed.html
avatar
Donnamarie
On an all-time Clooney high!

Posts : 4603
Join date : 2014-08-26
Location : Washington, DC

Back to top Go down

Re: Tomorrowland Reviews -- Spoiler Alerts

Post by LizzyNY on Thu 28 May 2015, 13:38

Donnamarie - The reviewer made some interesting points about Bird's storytelling choices, but I would have given her opinions more weight if she had done some homework before she saw the film. Did she truly not know that there really is a Tomorrowland at Disney? Did she not check the movie's website at all to learn the backstory of the making of the movie? Did she really not know Britt Robertson's name? Her constant harping on not being able to follow the film's timeline makes me wonder about her ability to process information. (Yes, I' saying she might not be too bright.)

I am still surprised that so many people found the movie confusing. I thought it was pretty straightforward, even though it posed some questions which it intentionally didn't answer.

I think the fact that the movie is having difficulty finding an audience sort of proves Brad Bird's point. Critics don't want to come out of the theater feeling good and optimistic. They've forgotten that kids need that kind of reassurance in their world - and this is predominantly a kid's movie. I'm glad Brad Bird presented a hopeful version of the future to counteract all the gloom and doom that's out there.
avatar
LizzyNY
On an all-time Clooney high!

Posts : 4655
Join date : 2013-08-28
Location : NY, USA

Back to top Go down

Re: Tomorrowland Reviews -- Spoiler Alerts

Post by Donnamarie on Thu 28 May 2015, 14:29

Lizzy yep Dana whats her name was a bit short on some basic background of Tomorrowland.  That why I appreciated Forrest Wickman's filling in those blanks for her and his much more positive perspective on the film.  This interview helped clear up some confusing elements of the story for me.

My takeaway is that there is so much going on in this movie, so many layers that the typical moviegoer and even many critics can't appreciate the film on its face.  It's a thoughtful film.   I still think on some level the writing and the marketing fell short for  Tomorrowland.  But it's not a total loss as the critics would like us to believe.  I hope over the long term this film will have legs to stand on and appreciated beyond its supposed weak opening weekend.
avatar
Donnamarie
On an all-time Clooney high!

Posts : 4603
Join date : 2014-08-26
Location : Washington, DC

Back to top Go down

Re: Tomorrowland Reviews -- Spoiler Alerts

Post by LizzyNY on Thu 28 May 2015, 18:09

If Disney were smart, after the movie leaves theaters they could make a deal with a book club like Scholastic to market the movie to schools like JK Rowling did with the "Harry Potter" books. That way they could recoup some of their costs and the movie could continue to have an impact.

IMO Their publicity department totally screwed the pooch on this film.
avatar
LizzyNY
On an all-time Clooney high!

Posts : 4655
Join date : 2013-08-28
Location : NY, USA

Back to top Go down

Re: Tomorrowland Reviews -- Spoiler Alerts

Post by What Would He Say on Sun 31 May 2015, 21:44

What a day, I ran out of the house after posting about George and his hope in Better Angels.... by me the biggest optimist in the world....who must have appeared like the biggest pessimist ever.... I rushed to catch Tomorrowland...

Hands up I felt utterly beguiled and enchanted by the character of Athina.....to me the very best thing in the movie....So what I am about to say next is going to make NO sense what so ever......BUT SHE should have been a HE.....Sorry but I think they missed a trick.....

You all want to hear about George he was spectacular, everything you would hope for.....My barometer is "can I see anyone else pulling off that role at that level" and the answer is NO!.......He was great, engaging, funny, someone you would genuinely want to get to know and respect, all at the same time.....You just knew he had a story to tell from the get go....

Two young female characters, well they were just one too many and caused the story line to falter....just a wee bit....

The young George was amazing a natural!.....we all, I can speak for the whole theatre loved him.....So why the reluctance to write in/cast another young male....it would have sharpened the focus, and a made a better story....tying in any kind of emotional connection (even with years of delay) became heavy and unnecessary in an otherwise action packed movie....We just did not need it....

The beginning scenes with George were fab, and the depiction of  the World Fair and Tomorrowland had me on the edge of my seat....complete with Athina looking heartbreakingly like a 9 year old Audrey Hepburn.....These scenes were genius.....and the ones you will remember.....

Brit Robertson provided an amazingly confident performance, but she did not touch Raffey Cassidy's Athina......So why then did I want her to be a boy?  So why then did I want her character changed or cut out?

Also, the trailers I saw did not touch the energy of the movie....it did the movie a disservice......It's a lot better than it looks....Go see...



ps.  The fact that any type of spirituality never reared it's head was handled masterfully.....but I missed it all the same.
avatar
What Would He Say
Practically on first name terms with Mr Clooney

Posts : 2181
Join date : 2013-05-15
Location : OneDAyComo

Back to top Go down

Re: Tomorrowland Reviews -- Spoiler Alerts

Post by Way2Old4Dis on Mon 01 Jun 2015, 02:11

There's an article in 'Movie Cheat Sheet' with a title something like "5 Mistakes That Made 'Tomorrowland' a Flop," which I can't copy on the Kindle, that makes me doubt the critic's comprehension skills. I'm amazed at how many people are either overthinking or don't get such a simple concept. It's like there was a meeting where it was decided "Brad Bird is due for a flop, and this one's perfect 'cause Clooney's in it."

Way2Old4Dis
Training to be Mrs Clooney?

Posts : 2281
Join date : 2012-06-25

Back to top Go down

Re: Tomorrowland Reviews -- Spoiler Alerts

Post by Donnamarie on Mon 01 Jun 2015, 03:29

Way2 do you think George saw the movie before it premiered?  Since he only acted in it.
avatar
Donnamarie
On an all-time Clooney high!

Posts : 4603
Join date : 2014-08-26
Location : Washington, DC

Back to top Go down

Re: Tomorrowland Reviews -- Spoiler Alerts

Post by LizzyNY on Mon 01 Jun 2015, 04:58

Way2Old - Do you think the critics were so hard on the movie because it was Bird and they expected some kind of masterpiece? Do you think the way they publicized the movie hurt it? I keep thinking that they shot themselves in the foot with the way they promoted the movie.
avatar
LizzyNY
On an all-time Clooney high!

Posts : 4655
Join date : 2013-08-28
Location : NY, USA

Back to top Go down

Re: Tomorrowland Reviews -- Spoiler Alerts

Post by it's me on Mon 01 Jun 2015, 10:17

some points

Casey relevance about the "salvation" was solved too fast
into a too frantic moments was not enough underlined IMO

and I agree about the not enough tension about the trio difficulties
it was going up and down, probably thinking about kids audience

something tickling me as a bit lack of conviction/belief
(or was it confusion by the director? I can't reach the point
...
too hard the message to spread ?
can it be?)

well
now that I saw it I can concentrate on previous articles so to better understand
avatar
it's me
George Clooney fan forever!

Posts : 17181
Join date : 2011-01-03

Back to top Go down

Re: Tomorrowland Reviews -- Spoiler Alerts

Post by fava on Mon 01 Jun 2015, 13:39

Way2Old4Dis wrote:There's an article in 'Movie Cheat Sheet' with a title something like "5 Mistakes That Made 'Tomorrowland' a Flop," which I can't copy on the Kindle, that makes me doubt the critic's comprehension skills. I'm amazed at how many people are either overthinking or don't get such a simple concept. It's like there was a meeting where it was decided "Brad Bird is due for a flop, and this one's perfect 'cause Clooney's in it."

Didn't read the article, but are they overthinking it because they expected more from Bird/Lindelhof/ Clooney combo? 

I hope it's the end of movies based on Disney theme park attractions.  I was not looking forward to "It's a small world"

fava
More than a little bit enthusiastic about Clooney

Posts : 1160
Join date : 2011-02-24

Back to top Go down

Re: Tomorrowland Reviews -- Spoiler Alerts

Post by Sevens on Mon 01 Jun 2015, 14:12

The film is very much original. I personally wont call it a movie based on Disney theme park.
avatar
Sevens
Clooney Zen Master

Posts : 3080
Join date : 2014-02-26
Location : Xi'an, China

Back to top Go down

Re: Tomorrowland Reviews -- Spoiler Alerts

Post by Way2Old4Dis on Mon 01 Jun 2015, 14:24

One point the article made is that the "message" of the movie is that the world sucks and we're all screwed forever, and that the audience left the theatres thinking we're doomed. Huh? Did he see the whole thing?

There's no doubt in my mind that Disney blew the marketing on this one. I think they tried to get too coy and mysterious. Showing just one of the cool set pieces from th movie as a trailer would have been tons better. BUT, I am also convinced that there is a bit of retribution going on here, on the part of the critics. There were no advance screeners, few or no private press showings, and little press exposure until the junket. Critics don't like to be treated like the regular old audience. Bird's desire to keep the story under wraps was interpreted as arrogance, and the critics get the last word with the power of the pen.

And we all know that Clooney-bashing is in vogue right now.

So it was a combination of things, IMO.

Still let's remind ourselves that $130M in just over a week is not a "flop." It's not superhero blockbuster tentpole money, but it's still a lot of money.

Way2Old4Dis
Training to be Mrs Clooney?

Posts : 2281
Join date : 2012-06-25

Back to top Go down

Re: Tomorrowland Reviews -- Spoiler Alerts

Post by LizzyNY on Mon 01 Jun 2015, 17:51

I'm sure they'll make their budget back over time. What really gets me is that a lot of people who might really have enjoyed the movie won't see it because of the critics. Since Disney did such a minimal and piss poor marketing job the only thing people are seeing are the cranky reviews and it's keeping them out of the theaters. Maybe word of mouth will help a little. I hope so. It really is a pretty good movie.
avatar
LizzyNY
On an all-time Clooney high!

Posts : 4655
Join date : 2013-08-28
Location : NY, USA

Back to top Go down

Re: Tomorrowland Reviews -- Spoiler Alerts

Post by amaretti on Mon 01 Jun 2015, 18:15

I have not seen the film but I loved Brad Bird's Ratatouille and I have a DVD . I think Tomorrowland is a film you should see in IMAX .

amaretti
Training to be Mrs Clooney?

Posts : 2367
Join date : 2012-08-15

Back to top Go down

Re: Tomorrowland Reviews -- Spoiler Alerts

Post by Sevens on Mon 01 Jun 2015, 18:27

go see it in IMAX amaretti.,I did so last week and it felt great.
The image is just incredible on the full screen and the sound rocks me.
avatar
Sevens
Clooney Zen Master

Posts : 3080
Join date : 2014-02-26
Location : Xi'an, China

Back to top Go down

Re: Tomorrowland Reviews -- Spoiler Alerts

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum